ABOUT US

Founded in 1958

First Call, formerly called the National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence, was founded in 1958 to serve the Kansas City metropolitan area.

First Call 

First Call provides clinical, educational, and prevention services to individuals and families in Greater Kansas City impacted by substance use disorders. Our prevention and recovery services impact over 60,000 individuals each year in the Kansas City area.

First Call has an extensive written materials library on substance use disorders and recovery in the metro area, the Speas Resource Library. Materials are available to the public on request.  

SIDE EFFECTS
 
 
STOP THE SHAME
 

To learn more visit stoptheshame.info

Governing Board 

Board Member
George Lopez, Chair
Nicole Esquibel, Vice Chair
Trisha Hokanson, Secretary
DJ Pierre, Treasurer 
Karen Boyd
Eric Burtin
Sergeant Garron Carter
Karen Gerson
Kurt Hadermann

Patrick James Martin
Dr. Linda L. Moore
Laura Mussulman 

Dee Pack 
Richard D. Rhyne
Polly Thomas 
Professional Affiliation 
Celink
Avila University
J.E. Dunn Construction Group
Spencer Fane LLP
Ivanhoe Neighborhood Council
Burtin & Associates, Inc.
Kansas City Missouri Police Department
Community Volunteer
Cohen Financial

Cornerstone Companies
Psychologist, Author, Speaker
The University of Kansas Medical Center

Cargo Largo
Lathrop GPM LLP
CBIZ, Inc. 

Our Team 

 
26 - GSW_7761_JPG.jpg
Emily Hage
President & CEO 

emilyh@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8052

04 - GSW_7826_JPG.jpg
Ryan Toothaker 
Chief Financial Officer 

ryant@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8053

16 - GSW_7782_JPG.jpg
Keith Faison, CCJC, CRADC, LAC
Corrections Services Team Lead
keith@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8056
12 - GSW_7799_JPG.jpg
Megan Fowler, LCSW
Director of Clinical Services

mfowler@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8061

32 - GSW_7740_JPG.jpg
Sarah Emanuels
Family Services Counselor

semanuels@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8081

Megan Keller, MS, MAADC II
Family Services Team Lead

megank@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8047

Irwin Color.jpg
Michelle Irwin, CRPS
Community Outreach Specialist

michellei@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8046

24 - GSW_7830_JPG.jpg
Marchel Alverson
Director of Marketing & Communications

malverson@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8060

06 - GSW_7818_JPG.jpg
Brit Buell, CRAADC, PLPC, LPC
Recovery Advocate

bbuell@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8051

28 - GSW_7749_JPG.jpg
Bethany DePugh, CPS
Recovery Advocate

bdepugh@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8057

20 - GSW_7769_JPG.jpg
36 - GSW_7735_JPG.jpg
Margaux Guignon, CRPS, MRSS
Director of Prevention Services

mguignon@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8058

38 - GSW_7728_JPG.jpg
Deborah Lee
Crisis Call Coordinator
deborahl@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8040
46 - GSW_7713_JPG.jpg
Melissa Gard
Director of Operations & 
 Administration

mgard@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8041

18 - GSW_7770_JPG.jpg
Kelli Jo Parr
Reentry Program Coordinator

kparr@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8065

10 - GSW_7805_JPG.jpg
Andrew Dixon
Recovery Advocate

adixon@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8050

40 - GSW_7727_JPG.jpg
Rita Mwongong
Recovery Advocate

rmwongong@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8067

30 - GSW_7745_JPG.jpg
Ann Schlafer
Crisis Call Counselor

akirchhoff@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8066

14 - GSW_7789_JPG.jpg
DeMarco Vaughn 
Community Prevention Specialist

DVaughn@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8055

42 - GSW_7721_JPG.jpg
Kris Rochelle
Recovery Advocate
krochelle@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8083
34 - GSW_7736_JPG.jpg
Nhi Tuggle, LMSW
Family Services Counselor

ntuggle@firstcallkc.org | 816.800.8044

02 - GSW_7838_JPG.jpg
LaTanya Dumas, 
Re-entry Counselor

ldumas@firstcallkc.org

2020 Annual Report & Accomplishments

2020 AR Front Page .png
Click HERE to view First Call's most recent IRS Form 990.